Country charm

Coucou

As most of you are probablement aware, I am an avid supporter of the great outdoors, particularly my beloved Devon. Je suis sûre que lots of you might even be bored stiff from my endless nostalgically poetic descriptions of my région. Je m’excuse. Even when in a belle ville like London or Paris, I am never unimpressed by the beauté of the rolling hills, rough edges and rambling paths. Au contraire, j’adore the rural charme of anything green and slightly rusty on the edges. A certain country chic comes to mind. 

   

       

When left on my own for a few days chez moi, I took the initiative to go on a beautiful cycle ride, at a glacial pace in fact due to a puncture. Yet how can one get annoyed when faced with a fun bike that I painted yellow last summer and a great wilderness of the unknown? It was a wonderful way of seeing the hedgerows, little Spring lambs, catkins and other signs of Spring that are popping up here and there. Whilst on my route I came across (purely by chance) an old, abandonné chapel, and poked my head round the door. Expecting it to be locked, I was so contente to find it not only open, but with an extraordinary pink light coming through. The dusky light was coming through the stained glass and was refracted (my French science teacher who I worked with last year in the lycée will approve of the correct technical term here!). All in all, I was in awe by the splendour of the place, the fact that it was off the beaten track as if it wished someone would explore it, and the fact that just at that moment the light was creating this wonderful couleur. Che bello! 

   

         

I guess, then, that the idée is to go the extra mile this month in finding intéressants things in places you might not expect. You might just be pleasantly surprised. 

A+ 

Next post: my favourite hand creams for this horrible and harsh time of year. Enjoy ! 

   

     


Leave a comment